Four ESHS Students Honored as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Congratulations to the following El Segundo High School students who are National Merit Scholarship semifinalists! They were honored this week by the ESUSD Board of Education.

Quin Kirsten
Jason Liu
Lucia Liu
Matthew Tritasavit


ESHS also received Letters of Commendation for:

Matthew Koziol
Maximilian Shulz
Maya Weiss


The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT)—a test which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

About 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as semifinalists. To ensure that academically talented young people from all parts of the United States are included in this talent pool, semifinalists are designated on a state-representational basis. They are the highest scoring entrants in each state.